Why Tweet?


<

>I was beginning to feel as if I was at a disadvantage not having a Twitter account.  Although it was the hot topic on a handful of PR blogs, I couldn’t believe that all of my peers were using it.  That is, of course, until I was asked to share my Twitter account along with my resume when I was applying for an internship.  Maybe I believed it when I attended Philadelphia’s Social Media Day and the entire event was centered around a game of Twizzo (yes, that’s Twitter Quizzo).  No, no.  The straw that broke the camel’s back was when I received about 50 business cards at PRSSA National Conference from other students and right below their email addresses were their Twitter handles.

Yesterday, I finally caved in and created my account.  I could no longer ignore the necessity that was Twitter.  The “why” was becoming crystal clear.  PR is about being a master of the tool that is Social Media.  It is about connecting with people and using your own personal network to build awareness.  At the very core of this field is communication.  Twitter addressed all of these elements.

Getting my account up and running was as simple as going googling Twitter and signing up.  I put in some very basic information about myself and searched for people I know who are using Twitter to the benefit of their careers.  I started to follow them, first.  I looked through the list of people who they were following to find PR agencies and organizations. I searched for some other people to follow that were of personal interest to me (the first two being Chelsea Handler and my guilty pleasure Perez Hilton), and in less than 24 hours I had 6 followers of my own, although I’m not sure why since I had nothing to Tweet about.

This was a concern I brought up to my mentor during our first meeting.  What could I possibly have to say that people want to hear?  She gave me some awesome advice that gave me the confidence to sign up, “People are following you because they are interested in your story.  Whatever you have to say is what they want to hear.”  While my first tweet was more personal (I had to plug the Rocky Horror Glee Show), I still wanted to figure out how industry professionals were using Twitter to their clients’ benefit.  I did a bit more googling and I came across the presentation above on http://www.slideshare.net.  I recommend watching it, if for no other reason than to learn about somethign that will surely come up in an interview.

I am already seeing the positives of Twitter.  Here is a list of some of the things I didn’t know I could use twitter for:

  • Getting brief updates from news, entertainment, and fashion sources
  • Keeping track of your favorite public figures and celebrities
  • Finding job and internship opportunities
  • Staying up to date on companies you may be interested in working at in the future (it is always important to do your research)
Leave a Reply

